Active Duty USAF wanting Physics/CS/ECE Degree(s)

• Programs
  • Thread starter NoHaxPlz
  • Start date
In summary: I don't know if you can get a CS degree and a Physics degree online, I don't know if the courses that EDX offers count as college credit, and I don't know if the courses offered by MIT are accredited. I think it would be a really good idea to talk to a real person, either in person or over the phone, to get an idea of what kind of program would work best for you.
NoHaxPlz
I've looked all over this forum for the past year or two.. Really, I've just been lurking because I can't actively participate in many of the conversations on here. Love the information this forum has.

So, I'm currently an electrician who is active duty in the United States Air Force, and I want to pursue an education in Physics. I am almost finished with my Associates Degree from the Community College of the Air Force, I will be finished this upcoming semester, and when I get into college, I can start at Calculus level; my bases are covered.

The problem is that there are very, very few local schools here; and of those that are here, they are too expensive to be in them part-time, and don't even offer Physics.

So what I need is advice.

My interests are primarily Physics, Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, and Computer Engineering; in that order.

My plan is Physics, background in an electrical-based engineering, and a minor in Computer Science. Ultimately I want many options available in the future. I love the whole idea of Quantum Physics, I love applied sciences, computer science, I want to work with Quantum Computing, Computational Physics, or just have the knowledge to decide if I actually want to do something else in the sciences.

While active duty I need to do online programs. Should I do Computer Science, Physics, or some type of Engineering degree online?