A quick question about entanglement

In summary, when measuring an entangled particle, if you get a result of "up" in the X axis and "up" in the Z axis, then you know that both components of spin are UP.
rede96
I'm just an interested layman with no back ground in physics so please excuse my ignorance.

As I understand it, due to the uncertainty principle it isn't possible to know both the X and Z spin component for example, of an electron simultaneously.

So if I took pair of entangled electrons and measured one in the X axis and got an 'Up' result, what would I observe if I measured the second in say the Z axis?

Physics news on Phys.org
You would have a 50% chance of measuring up on the z-axis, 50% chance of measuring down.

That's because the angle between the x and z axes is 90 degrees. In general, if you measure "up" on the x-axis, your probability of getting "up" on any other axis will be ##\sin^2\frac{\theta}{2}## where ##\theta## is the angle between them. (That's assuming the most commonly case of spin-entangled electrons, where the spins are always opposite on the same axis).

The uncertainty principle is at work here because when you measured the pair and found that it is in the state "one is spin-up on the x-axis, the other is spin-down on the x-axis" you became uncertain about the result of the z-axis measurement.

Last edited: