The Physics of a Computer Processor

In summary, a student in a modern physics class has been assigned to give a presentation on the physics of computer processors. They are looking for information or resources on the topic and have been directed to various links. The expert suggests that understanding transistors is key to understanding microprocessors and recommends researching bipolar junction and field-effect transistors. They also note that this topic would be more appropriate in the technology/hardware section.
anubhab123us
Hello,I am a student attending Highschool and I was assigned in my modern physics class(2nd year physics course) to do a presentation in front of the whole class about the physics of computer processors. I know that it has a lot to do with electricity magnetism because it sounds like it would and my teacher said something about it.Can someone please explain all you know about it or direct me to a link which is very useful. Thanks guys!

Physics news on Phys.org
To know about Processors:

http://www.computerhope.com/help/cpu.htm
http://www.darpa.mil/mto/solicitations/BAA03-12/S/Section1.html
http://www.mykrolis.com/publications.nsf/docs/MAL123

(You'll find many links about it in search engines)

For it's structure I think you should study about semiconductor physics more than magnets and electrical circuit theories!

Here Electronics is more important than Electricals

(This topic should've been placed in the technology -> Hardware section)

Last edited by a moderator:
Processors are nothing more than arrays of transistors -- switches -- wired together. If you understand the switch, you understand all the physics in a microprocessor. Look into the way a bipolar junction transistor operates, or if you want to be more modern, a field-effect transistor.

- Warren

1. How does a computer processor work?