A mathematician starting to study physics

In summary: Hi everyone, let me introduce myself. I'm studying my M. Sc. in mathematics and I'm very interested in singularities. I have read some books and articles and it's very common hear about singularities in physics, actually one professor of my institute told me that some results of the fibration theorem of Milnor are used in the string theory. Well the point is that I want to start to learn physics in order to study the singularities in both fields, math and physics, but I haven't found any good book in order to start. Any one could recommend me some good books in order to start ?? I know that it's going to take some time the learn enough physics but I don't have any hurry.
Dark666
Hi everyone, let me introduce myself. I'm studying my M. Sc. in mathematics and I'm very interested in singularities.

I have read some books and articles and it's very common hear about singularities in physics, actually one professor of my institute told me that some results of the fibration theorem of Milnor are used in the string theory.

Well the point is that I want to start to learn physics in order to study the singularities in both fields, math and physics, but I haven't found any good book in order to start.

Any one could recommend me some good books in order to start ?? I know that it's going to take some time the learn enough physics but I don't have any hurry.

By the way all my knowledge of physics it's like the first course of classical mecanics of the first semester of the career, it's almost nothing :S.

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
First course in classical mechanics means introductory physics, right?

Best place to learn physics in the ENTIRE universe (for mathematicians):

John Baez's website.

Here are some general book recommendations.

http://math.ucr.edu/home/baez/books.html