A lower level question of curiosity.

• Thread starter dtl42
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Curiosity
In summary, the high school student is trying to find the area under the graph of one sin arc without using calculus. They initially considered drawing a large, scaled version and filling it with many rectangles. Other methods suggested include Riemann Sums and the Trapezoidal Rule, with Riemann Sums being the easiest and most straightforward. The student has a TI-84 calculator and is struggling to use Riemann Sums on it. They are also unsure if this method is considered calculus or analysis. They have attempted to draw rectangles and have gotten answers ranging from 1.87 to 1.95, but it is not safe to assume that the area is approaching 2 based on this data alone.
dtl42
Hello, I am a high school student, and I am a new member to this forum.

I was wondering how to find the area under the graph of one sin arc without using calculus. The problem comes from something one of my friends gave me. The question shows a picture with some rectangles in the space underneath the curve. I was thinking if i drew a large, scaled version and filled it with many rectangles i would be able to approximate the area. the key point to my question is that calculus is not involved.

Are there any methods that are less demeaning than drawing tons of little rectangles? What are they?

Mathematics news on Phys.org
dtl42 said:
Hello, I am a high school student, and I am a new member to this forum.

I was wondering how to find the area under the graph of one sin arc without using calculus. The problem comes from something one of my friends gave me. The question shows a picture with some rectangles in the space underneath the curve. I was thinking if i drew a large, scaled version and filled it with many rectangles i would be able to approximate the area. the key point to my question is that calculus is not involved.