A little idea I had with a lot of flaws...

• Thread starter Cristiano_Naruto
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Idea
In summary: HomeDepotUS-_-Main%20Logic%201%20-%20Tools%20%26%20Hardware&cm_mmc=email-_-HomeDepotUS-_-Main%20Logic%201%20-%20Tools%20%26%20Hardware I found this at Home Depot.
Cristiano_Naruto
First things first, I feel I am a complete novice and I don't know a lot about physics or chemistry. I posted this for you to tell me why and if this idea makes sense. Open to criticism.

So, I was thinking about an automatic hammer. A hammer that moves on its own.

In the design, half of the hammer could be cut in. Then hinges could be placed so the hammer could go up and down without losing one piece. Then I thought, if we attached a holder to the bottom piece, and attach a metal rod to the top piece, dragging the top piece through the holder, up and down, could replicate hitting with a hammer.

But that's just too simple. A hammer supposedly exerts over 9000 joules of force on the nail it hits. So I thought of replicating this with the same mechanism as bullets. Either using an small bomb, at the end of the rod, so that when a switch is hit, the rod is rushed forcefully upwards. Or, maybe explosive gases could be used, such as reacting Potassium with water or some chemical process I don't know about.

Then, if an explosive mechanism to power the rod upwards were even to work, what's to say about safety and not damaging the holder? Well, making a protective casing with Calcium Silicate or Potassium Silicate could work, as they are resistant to heat, fire and I'm hoping explosions. Or maybe use the same principle as firing of bullets?

So, I'm sure it has a million flaws, but feel free to point them out, I want to learn.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Also, when calculating for momentum of a hammer, do you use the mass of the hammer head or the mass of the hammer?

Not to be too blunt but... What the hell are you talking about?

What do you mean automatic hammer.