A generation is about one-third of a lifetime.

In summary: There is nothing wrong with your method.So -- how did you answer the question?And -- what does the link say?In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of generations and how many have passed since year 0 AD. The question presents an equation found by googling, but the asker is unsure of how to interpret or use it. They mention their own method of dividing a lifetime of 70 years by 3 to find a generation, but this does not match the answer given. Ultimately, the asker is looking for clarification and understanding of the question and its solution.
Bijackar

Homework Statement

A generation is about one-third of a lifetime. Approximately how
many generations have passed since the year 0 AD?

Let me first say that this is my first time taking physics and this is all new to me so I appreciate all the help.

Homework Equations

here is the answer I found by googleing but I don't quite understand it. I was wondering if someone could explain it to me.

history x (10^11s / history) × (1 generation / 1/3 lifetime) × (0.5 lifetime / 10^9s) = 150

The Attempt at a Solution

How I approached this problem was that I chose 70 to be an average person's lifetime then I divided that by 3 to find what a generation is and then divide 2015 by that number which is not what the answer says. I think I just don't get the question.

Physics news on Phys.org
Bijackar said:

Homework Statement

A generation is about one-third of a lifetime. Approximately how
many generations have passed since the year 0 AD?

Let me first say that this is my first time taking physics and this is all new to me so I appreciate all the help.

Homework Equations

here is the answer I found by googleing but I don't quite understand it. I was wondering if someone could explain it to me.

history x (10^11s / history) × (1 generation / 1/3 lifetime) × (0.5 lifetime / 10^9s) = 150

The Attempt at a Solution