A block of mass m=0.2 kg, is pushed by a spring of stiffness k=300 N/m

In summary: Nope. I'd deal directly with the energies (kinetic and potential). The only tricky bit is handling the spring action since the block can't compress past the wedge (it would slip if it tried to). So you need to find the distance from the block's initial position to the point where the spring stops pushing the block. But that's the only tricky part with this approach, and it's all in the setup.In summary, the conversation involves a student seeking help with a physics problem involving a block on a wedge with a spring, friction, and gravity. The professor provided an answer of .56m, but the student has been unable to find a solution using various formulas and online resources. Suggestions were made to approach the
selhai97
I am currently taking a physics class and I'm studying for the final and I've been stuck on this problem and haven't been able to find help from the book nor help from online.

The professor said the answer was .56m, but I've been trying formulas for about an hour now and haven't been getting anything close to that.

Help please?

1. Homework Statement

A block of mass m=0.2 kg, is pushed by a spring of stiffness k=300 N/m, initially compressed by A=10cm, up the 30° wedge. If the friction coefficient between the block and the wedge is 0.6, how far will the block pass in m along the wedge before it stops?

Homework Equations

I think:
ω = √(k/m)
T = (2π)/ω
x = Acos(ωt + φ)

The Attempt at a Solution

[/B]
ω = √(300/.2) = 7.7
T = (2π)/7.7 = .82
x = (10)cos(7.7*.82) = 9.99

Like I said, I've been trying different formulas for about an hour now, so I don't think I'm using the right ones.

Any help would be amazing, thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org
selhai97 said:
I am currently taking a physics class and I'm studying for the final and I've been stuck on this problem and haven't been able to find help from the book nor help from online.