770 PGRE : Send score to schools that say 'recommended'?

In summary: I can't remember if it said something about GRE scores or not, but it doesn't really matter because you can get into any school with a good GPA and a good GRE score.In summary, the PGRE does correlate to how well you will do on the qual, but it is not the only factor.
ian_dsouza
I got a 770 (65%) on the PGRE. I am an international student with a US master's degree in engineering, with no quantum mechanics or electromagnetism courses on my transcripts. I was wondering if I should send PGRE scores to schools that say it's recommended. The schools I had in mind are Brown and Stony Brook and I'm applying for experiment. Do you think the PGRE would help or hamper my case?

Physics news on Phys.org
I think it would help. I would think Brown and Stony Brook both require, or at least recommend the PGRE. Not supplying the PGRE might suggest you did below 65%. I think 65% is around an average score for these (very good) schools.

Likes ian_dsouza
Since your major isn't in physics, if you don't send the GRE scores, they will guess about your physics knowledge. It's your application - only you can decide whether you want that. Since roughly twice as many people take the GRE than are admitted to grad school - any grad school - a 65% means you're somewhere in the bottom third of admitted students. For the schools you mention, that's probably not a high score.

I think I said it before, but if you are interested in string theory, you should not apply for experiment. It's one thing to be uncertain; it's another to try and game the system. This won't fool anyone. Departments are not stupid, and they have seen orders of magnitude more applications than you have. You will far, far better off if you tell the truth.

Likes PhotonSSBM