How High Must the First Hill Be for a Skier to Lose Contact at the Crest?

• Thread starter Klassic
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Em
In summary: To summarize, in both problems, the key concepts are centripetal acceleration/force and the conservation of energy. In the first problem, the skier will lose contact with the snow at the crest of the second hill if the normal force is zero, meaning that the force of gravity must provide the centripetal acceleration. This can be calculated using the equations mg=mV^2/r and KE=PE. In the second problem, the motion can be broken into two parts: down the slope and free fall. The frictional force must also be taken into account in the first part, using the equation F=μN. The final velocity can be calculated using the equation KE=PE.
Klassic
I understand that it is required that a user have attempted the problems before posting as this is not a place where people will do your homework for you. I'm a relatively good physics student, and was just handed a 30 problem packet to complete. I've spent the majority of my weekend figuring these problems out, and I'm left with 2 problems that I'm having a great deal of trouble with. The problems are:

A skier starts from rest at the top of a hill. The skier coasts down the hill and up a second hill. The crest of the second hill is circular with a radius of r=36 m. Neglect friction and air resistance. What is the height of the first hill such that the skier just loses contact with the snow at the crest of the second hill?

I've figured out that to figure out this problem, you must have a strong bearing on the concepts of centripetal acceleration/force. I don't entirely grasp those concepts. I'm having a hard time even getting a grasp on this problem.

Second: