Write each polynomial as the product of it's greatest common

In summary: I'm not in a rush or anything so I don't mind taking stuff to a point like 12a^2(6a^2(1/12)a+1/3). It isn't for any class, it's just from a Algebra II + Trig eBook that I'm studying from. I'm learning math by myself as a... hobby. I'm not in a rush or anything so I don't mind taking stuff to a point like 12a^2(6a^2(1/12)a+1/3).If you're just looking to see how far you can take it, then go for it. Haha. But, you're right, there's no rush
MathJakob

Homework Statement

Write each polynomial as the product of it's greatest common monomial factor and a polynomial

Homework Equations

[tex]8x^2+12x[/tex]
[tex]6a^4-3a^3+9a^2[/tex]

The Attempt at a Solution

[tex]4x(2x+3)[/tex]
[tex]a^2(6a^2-3a+9)[/tex]

I really don't understand what it's asking me for, how can I factor this more?

Physics news on Phys.org
The second equation can be factored a little further. The three terms still have one more common factor.

Are these two separate problems? It sounds like it just wants you to factor out the greatest common factor.

[tex]4x(2x+3)[/tex] I can't see anymore common factors...

[tex]a^2(6a^2-3a+9[/tex] also has no common factors, if it were a +3 instead of a -3 then I could do this [tex]6a^4-3a^3+9a^2[/tex]
[tex]3a^2(2a^2-a+3)[/tex]

hmm can you give me a pointer? I assume I have to get rid of the remaining squares?

What about ##8x(x + 3/2)##? No one said anything about needing the polynomial factor to have integer coefficients. The question is ambiguous; I would skip it.

One more thing, if x is negative, the factor 4x is smaller than the factor 2x.

MathJakob said:
[tex]4x(2x+3)[/tex] I can't see anymore common factors...
I disagree with verty about [itex]8x(x+ 3/2)[/itex] being a solution. In factoring problems, it is generally understood that the coefficients are to be integers in order to have a unique solution.