Why was my thread about civilizations closed on this science forum?

• Thread starter Lobos
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation was about a thread being closed and the reason behind it. The person asking questions about civilizations and social sciences felt that their questions were not being answered in a friendly manner and that the accusations made against them were not honest. The response from the forum was that non-science discussions are not a good fit for their purpose and they prefer discussions based on facts and logic.
Lobos
Someone closed my thread, for what reason? I was asking questions about civilizations and the fundamental ideas that thrive within them. I'm a student looking into the social science and history of civilizations.

Likes Tosh5457
Physics news on Phys.org
I didn't lock it, but I can say that the thread seemed to me like idle speculation, which isn't something we allow here, even for (especially for?) social sciences. If this is for a class, you are better off doing actual research.

People can correct me if my questions are not structured adequately. Well, one person was nice enough to reply, why can't everyone here be that nice?

Lobos said:
People can correct me if my questions are not structured adequately. Well, one person was nice enough to reply, why can't everyone here be that nice?
I'm sorry, but it isn't an issue of being "nice" -- we don't allow idle speculation and even just correcting the idle speculation is allowing it to continue. Idle speculation really isn't a very effective way to learn and we don't want to encourage that.

As we discussed, your question is philosophy, not science, and is not allowed.

I was just asking questions. We discussed ideas related to social theory in political science so I thought it would be okay to discuss that here. I'm trying to be as friendly as possible, but I feel like I'm not receiving friendly responses by you two.