Why does negative feedback stabilize an operational amplifier?

In summary: In the same way, feedback works on amplifiers the same way. The feedback creates a local minimum of voltage at the output, which helps stabilize the output.
CraigH
I'm studying for an exam and I'm struggling to understand op amps, here's my problem:
I understand that for an op amp to have a controllable gain, the difference between the input terminals must be very very close to zero (and you can assume it is zero). And to do this you use negative feedback. For example a non inverting op amp http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/6/66/Operational_amplifier_noninverting.svg
If the voltage divider sends half the voltage from the output to the inverting terminal, then the output will need to be twice as big as Vin in order for the input terminals to be the same. So the amp will have a gain of 2.
A lot of website explain this by saying the op amp "Wants" the inputs to be the same, so it adjusts the output so that they are.
What I don't understand is why the op amp "Wants" the inputs to be the same. Obviously it doesn't actually "Want" anything, but how does the circuit stabilize and manage to produce the desired output?
Thanks

Engineering news on Phys.org
First I want to clarify about the word "stabilize". We use this word mainly for stability of the op-amp where it does not burst into oscillation. What you talked about, we usually don't refer as stabilization.

Having said that. The definition of op-amp is it has very high internal gain. It has a +ve and -ve input and an output. The amp amplifier any signal between the +ve and -ve input. Say the open loop gain of the amp is 10000, and you put 1mV between the two input with the +ve side to the +ve input. The output will be 1mV X 10000=+10V.

There are at least two obvious problem with this: