Why does l'hopital's rule work?

In summary, L'Hopital's rule is a method for evaluating limits involving indeterminate forms. It is based on the concept of derivatives and the ratio of the instantaneous rates of change of two functions at a particular point. This can help provide an intuitive understanding of the rule and its applications. Additionally, some have drawn connections between L'Hopital's rule and Taylor series, but the exact relationship is still unclear.
Terrell
What is the intuition behind it? when i watch videos of people using l'hopital's rule. i can only deduce that they're only taking derivatives over and over again until a number comes out and that becomes the limit. how can a tangent slope be a value for a limit? Please give me an intuitive explanation. I'm a novice with abstract explanations. thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org
Likes Drakkith
If ##f(a) = g(a) = 0## then it's as simple as:

##lim_{x \rightarrow a} \frac{f(x)}{g(x)} = lim_{x \rightarrow a} \frac{(f(x) - f(a)/(x-a)}{(g(x) - g(a))/(x-a)} = \frac{f'(a)}{g'(a)}##

That's the essence of it, anyway.

Likes Ssnow, SammyS and Terrell
PeroK said:

##lim_{x \rightarrow a} \frac{f(x)}{g(x)} = lim_{x \rightarrow a} \frac{(f(x) - f(a)/(x-a)}{(g(x) - g(a))/(x-a)} = \frac{f'(a)}{g'(a)}##

wow! fascinating! lol...

PeroK said:

This formula is intuitive and really drives home what a derivative actually is. Thanks for sharing it.
f(x) - f(a) is really a fancy way of saying change of y, denoted as Δy, or in other words, y2 - y1. Similarly, x - a is a fancy way of writing change in x, denoted Δx, or in other words x2 - x1.