Why are electron and hole currents zero at thermal equilibrium?

In summary, it is claimed that at thermal equilibrium, we can take J_e and J_h to be identically zero. As I understand it, the requirement of T.E. allows us to state that the derivatives w.r.t. time are zero. However, I'm not certain as to why we need to mandate that the currents are zero.
Tony
Hi, I'm currently studying in an introductory semiconductor course where we use the following equations (numbers 1-5 on the first page):

http://web.mit.edu/kimt/www/6.012/TheFiveEquations.pdf

as a model of the underlying physics.

Now, it is claimed that at thermal equilibrium, we can take J_e and J_h to be identically zero. As I understand it, the requirement of T.E. allows us to state that the derivatives w.r.t. time are zero. However, I'm not certain as to why we need to mandate that the currents are zero.

Of course there's the intuitive notion that if there are currents, then things are moving and thus are not "at equilibrium"; but what I'm looking for is an algebraic derivation from the physical equations that restrict the current to be zero. However, I have not had too much success so far, and most resources just seem to assume that J_i = 0 at thermal equilibrium as a trivial result.

Can anyone give me some suggestions on how to begin?

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Here's a justification approach: Any flux [itex]J[/itex] (energy, matter, momentum, etc.) can be related to the gradient of a generalized potential:

[tex]J\propto-\nabla\Phi[/tex]

For charge carriers, we want to use the electrochemical potential:

[tex]\Phi=\mu+q\phi[/tex]

where [itex]\mu[/itex] is the chemical potential (related to concentration), [itex]q[/itex] is the carrier charge, and [itex]\phi[/itex] is the electric field. Now, if we assume that the electric field is zero and the carrier concentration is uniform, then the flux must be zero. Does this sound reasonable?