Why Am I the Only Girl in My Electro Engineering Class?

In summary, the conversation discusses a physics problem involving a block A on an incline and the forces acting on it, including gravity, friction, and an external force F. The question is how much force F needs to be to prevent block B from moving. The answer is given in terms of the angle of the incline and the friction between A and B. The conversation ends with a question about which components of force F are affecting friction and pushing A up the incline.
Tesla11
Only girl on electro engineering :(

Hello! This is my first post but not the last! :D
I'm a student at norwegian universety and I really have difficulty with phisics

Here's my question (look at attacment)

How big force F has to be so that B doestn't change position (doesn't flys over and doesn't fells down)?

Answer is this:

Mg(tanø*y) Mg(tanø+ y)
------------ < F< -----------
1+y*tanø 1-y*tanø

ø=angle
y=friction ( between A and B)

I'm not very proud to say that I used 10 hours in the row on this, so any help will be very appreciated!

Attachments

• 174 oppgave.jpg
    174 oppgave.jpg
    15.5 KB · Views: 395
Physics news on Phys.org

Welcome to PF.

Consider then the forces acting on the block A, with mass call it m, along the plane of the incline.
Gravity wants it to slide down at m*g*sinθ
Friction wants to hold it at μ*m*g*cosθ

Now what about your force F ?

How much is it accelerating the system of A and B?

Then what components of that force are increasing friction? and what component is wanting to push it up the incline?

Hi! I am a newcomer too... So welcome:P
Where is the Force apllied? To the A body? To the B? To none of these?

Related to Why Am I the Only Girl in My Electro Engineering Class?

1. What is electro engineering?