Why am I struggling to find job opportunities after gaining industry experience?

• Thread starter Jamin2112
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Grad
In summary, the conversation discusses the challenges and frustrations of finding a job in the tech industry. The speaker shares their experience of being able to get interviews and job offers right after college, but struggling to even get an interview now, despite having more experience and skills. They attribute this to the emphasis on keywords in resumes and the role of HR bureaucrats in the hiring process. Others in the conversation offer their own insights and experiences, including the possibility of being overqualified or underqualified for certain job levels. Overall, the conversation highlights the illogical and competitive nature of the job market in the tech industry.
Jamin2112
The illogic of the career world amazes me. When I graduated college, with only a base knowledge of web infrastructure and programming, I shotgun-applied to tons of tech jobs that were outside my league, and was able to get interviews right and left, and I even made it to the final rounds of a few interviews. 2 years later, I have industry experience, feel way more confident in my overall tech skills, but can't get interviews for any of the types of jobs I almost got after graduated college.

Example: Soon after graduating college I mistakenly applied for a Level-3 software engineering position with my state's government. Somehow, I got an interview, passed and was invited to a final interview at which they seemed to seriously be considering me. Recently, with far more skills under my belt, I applied for 2 different Level-1 versions of the same position and was denied w/out even getting an interview.

Physics news on Phys.org
I can't believe that isn't more than just bad luck. Employers want experience. Can you freshen up your skill set? Keep applying!

Maybe you were written off as overqualified? Who would pay a lvl3 salary for a lvl1 job..