Which is more important: Partial DiffE or Complex Variables

In summary: Thanks for the input!In summary, Maxwell says that the complex variable class will be incredibly useful and that he would (tentatively) disagree with Manchot who says that the class is redundant.
Nothing000
I am majoring in EE and have the option of taking either of these classes. I have to take Calc 1-3, Ordinary DiffE, and Linear Algebra. So after these classes is PDE or Complex Variables more useful to electrical engineers?

Engineering news on Phys.org
I'd say complex analysis, but I'm not sure what-all is covered in the PDE class. Can you post the syllabus of each?

Sure. Here they are:
Complex Variables:
Analytic functions, power series, residues and poles, conformal mapping, and applications.

Partial Differential Equations:
Classification of second order equations, characteristics, general theory of first order equations, Dirichlet problem for Laplace's equeation and Green's functions, eigenvalue problems, and variational methods.

Both of these classes have one different prerequisite. So whichever class I would take I would have to take the prereq for that class too. The pre req for Complex Variables is Calculus of Several Variables, and the pre req for PDE is Intermediate Differential Equations (ODE 2?). Here are the discriptions of those classes:

Calculus of Several Variables:
Differential and integral calculus of functions of several variables, vector anylasis, Stokes' Theorem, Green's Theorem and applications.

Intermediate Differential Equations:
Systems of differential equations, series, solutions, special functions, elementary partrial differential equations, Sturm-Liouville problems, stability and applications.

The class listings help a lot. For an EE, the complex analysis track will be way more useful. The PDE track looks to have some fun stuff as well, but in EE you'll use complex analysis almost constantly, so getting extra background on it will be a big plus, IMO.