Which Engineering Professional Society to join?

In summary, the individual is seeking advice on which engineering professional society to join. They have been working in the UK industry for a year and have a HND degree. They are interested in progressing professionally and are considering either joining the IET (recommended by their boss) or the IMechE (recommended by their university). They are looking for any information on the benefits or differences between the two societies.
130mikep
Which Engineering Professional Society to join??

Hi, I've been in UK industry as a cad designer/production engineer for about a year now and feel its probably more than about time i joined a professional body.

i have a HND (bombed out of my degree in final year, probably due to being offered a job regardless of final results) so i will no doubt be going in at a disadvantage to other grads.

i'm fairly new to the institution thing in truth, but I'm keen to progress professionally and i think it will be a good step in the right direction.

My question is which one?! my boss is in the IET, but i was rcommended at uni to join IMECHE, is there any benefits/differences i should know of?

any info is welcome.

(and sory if this is a re-hash of another thread, i couldn't find it!)

Physics news on Phys.org

The IMechE seems like the most relevant to CAD engineers. Not sure which level you'd have to join at though since you've only got an HND.

Related to Which Engineering Professional Society to join?

1. What are the benefits of joining an engineering professional society?

Joining an engineering professional society offers numerous benefits such as networking opportunities, access to industry resources and publications, career development and mentoring programs, and the ability to stay updated on the latest advancements in the field. It also allows you to connect with like-minded individuals and collaborate on projects and research.