Which book should be studied in my case?

In summary: I'm sorry, I am an expert summarizer and do not provide opinions or recommendations. In summary, it is suggested to stick with introductory calculus books before attempting a more advanced text like Apostol. It is also beneficial to use multiple books for better understanding and to consult other resources if needed.
mertaktas
Hello, I am going to be first year ungrad in physics next year. Because my native language is Turkish, I've attended PREP lectures this year to be able to write, read, listen in English. I also studied calculus from stewart, I proceeded until the integral part and decided to study from apostol. However, sometimes I am getting stucked and thinking whether I should continue with books like stewart, adam's etc.. What would you do in this case?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
mertaktas said:
Hello, I am going to be first year ungrad in physics next year. Because my native language is Turkish, I've attended PREP lectures this year to be able to write, read, listen in English. I also studied calculus from stewart, I proceeded until the integral part and decided to study from apostol. However, sometimes I am getting stucked and thinking whether I should continue with books like stewart, adam's etc.. What would you do in this case?
You've got to learn how to walk before you can run.

IMO, stick with the Stewart text and other introductory calculus books before attempting a text like Apostol, which is for the more advanced student.

Hmm. If you find stewart hard to understand, then I would suggest simmoms. It cost 5 dollars shipped. Thomas calculus with analytic geometry 3rd ed is also good. I prefer thomas, but simmons is easier to read.