What use is there for rationalizing denominator?

In summary, the technique of rationalizing denominators in radical expressions involves making the denominator an irrational number and simplifying fractions that involve complex numbers. This simplifies division and allows for easier calculations without the use of a calculator. The format of math equations on this forum is created using Latex codes, which can be copied and used by surrounding them with [ tex] ... [/tex] or using $$ at the beginning and end for inline equations.
leighflix
I've been learning algebra for the past 2 years (in high school), not once have we ever had to rationalize a denominator in a radical expression. I am now relearning Algebra and Trig., what use is there? I mean, all you're doing is switching the numerator (rational) to the Denominator (irrational) in terms of rationality. (not actually switching the numbers).

Rational / Irrational → Irrational / Rational

Mathematics news on Phys.org
After quite a while of thinking about this, the only conclusion I can come up with is to simplify it.

Say for example, 6 / √12 → 6√3 / √(12 ⋅ 3) → 6√3 / 6 → √3

leighflix said:
I've been learning algebra for the past 2 years (in high school), not once have we ever had to rationalize a denominator in a radical expression. I am now relearning Algebra and Trig., what use is there? I mean, all you're doing is switching the numerator (rational) to the Denominator (irrational) in terms of rationality. (not actually switching the numbers).

Rational / Irrational → Irrational / Rational
The main rationale behind this technique is that it's easier to divide an irrational number by a rational number than the other way around, especially if you don't have a calculator or computer to do the work for you.