What jobs can you get with a Bachelors in Applied Math

In summary, the conversation discussed potential job opportunities for someone majoring in Applied Mathematics at Fresno Pacific University. The individual expressed dissatisfaction with their school's career services and mentioned their interest in engineering, which is not offered at their school. Suggestions for career paths included academic or government jobs involving statistical models, programming jobs (with additional classes), and actuarial jobs. It was also suggested that there are still many job options in fields such as finance, economics, and national defense for those not pursuing further studies in mathematics. The conversation ended with a recommendation to explore online resources for more information and to consider transferring schools or seeking outside funding to pursue a career in engineering.
Thinkle12
So, I am majoring in Applied Mathematics at Fresno Pacific University and was just wondering what sorts of jobs I could get with my major. My school career services is kind of useless to be honest and I've already talked to them... I was just wondering what you all thought? I have always wanted to do engineering but my school does not have it... Thanks for the responses!

Physics news on Phys.org
All the applied math majors I know have academic or government jobs ... building statistical models and um stuff.

Programming jobs come to mind, but you will need to take some classes on it while you're in school. Also, check out actuarial jobs.

If you aren't planning on pursuing further studies in mathematics, there are still many jobs available. Some areas in finance, economics, national defence. There are many resources online that talk about such positions,
for instance,
http://www.toroidalsnark.net/mathcareers.html

is one I stumbled on.