What is the Role of a Mathematical Physicist?

In summary: Einstein was a great mathematician.In summary, a self-taught student is considering a career in mathematical physics, but is unsure if this is the right path for them. They would benefit from research experience or internship experience during their undergraduate years and would need to have strong math and physics background in order to pursue a career in this field.
SpanishOmelette
probably, I am a home-utored student(self-teaching!) and I'm seeking a little help.

While I am drawn to MANY forms of physics or mathematics, the mathematical physicist seems to be the ticket. But I am not sure.

I was just wondering if this would be a good way to go, and what exactly is the purpose of the mathematical physicist?

Blessings,
Mahmoud.

Physics news on Phys.org
Generally works for large corporation (R&D or applied mathematics) or University (teaching), unless you are gifted on the order of world class. Your statement of self-taught would generally indicate you may not survive teaching (you may end up disgusted with students who need to much help when you know with effort they could do it, after all, you did).

Where are you at in your studies? It is hard to become good at something without some interaction.

In the US, home schooling is common for up to the High school level. However, I don't believe it serves the student well much past Junior high. Many Home schooled students are superior students up to and including High School, but at the High school level, they can only progress so far. Key concepts are sometimes missing in their education, and there is no way for them to discover their shortcomings.

Hmm ok. So, degree would be needed?

R&D sounds pretty good though. I am just inspired by both Mathematis and physics, so I though this would be the perfect match.

Thanks for quick reply.

Jsut as a side-note, where does dynamics of non-linear systems (I.E. Chaos) fit in? M. Physics or A. Mathematics?