What is the formula for calculating the Ascendant?

• A
  • Thread starter Jerky Jesse
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Formula
In summary, the conversation is about calculating the Ascendant for a programming application using a formula. The formula involves converting degrees to radians and taking into account factors such as latitude and ecliptic. There is a question about whether additional conversion is needed and the possibility of using tables or lists to calculate the Ascendant. The conversation suggests checking out the wiki article for more information.
Jerky Jesse
I'm trying to figure out how to calculate the Ascendant for a programming application but I have little experience with this level of math.

My formula is this:

1998 December 31st 13:15 Brussels, Belgium.

double d2R = M_PI / 180; double R2d = 180 / M_PI; double latitude = 50.8503*d2R; double RAMC=287.8256496*d2R; double ecliptic=23.4392911*d2R;

double ASC = 1/MathArctan (- ( (MathTan (latitude ) * MathTan (ecliptic)) + (MathSin (RAMC) * MathCos (ecliptic)) ) / MathCos(RAMC));

double ascendant=ASC*R2d; which equals 68.28333 degrees.

Do I have to do some kind of conversion after using the formula? I think it may have to do with quadrants but I'm not sure...

Any leads would be very appreciated. I can't use tables or lists of ascendants to calculate this.

Astronomy news on Phys.org

Related to What is the formula for calculating the Ascendant?

1. What is the Ascendant?

The Ascendant, also known as the rising sign, is a point on the ecliptic (the path of the Sun through the sky) that is rising on the eastern horizon at the exact moment of a person's birth. It is one of the most significant components of a birth chart in astrology.

2. Why is calculating the Ascendant important?