What is the composition of the B1 phase in Cu-Zr alloy?

In summary, The speaker is studying materials science and looking at a particular alloy of Copper Zirconium. They have identified a B1 phase, also known as a CuZr phase, which initially caused confusion as they thought it meant each unit cell in the lattice was composed of one copper and one zirconium atom. However, after further examination, they realized that the B1 structure actually has 4 copper and 4 zirconium atoms per unit cell. The speaker is unsure why it is called a CuZr phase instead of Cu4Zr4, but it is likely expressing a 1:1 ratio between the two elements.
Fabian_m9
Hi,
I recently started studying materials science and I am looking at a particular alloy of Copper Zirconium.
I have identified a B1 phase and they call it a CuZr phase, which I 'm finding rather confusing. Initially I thought that CuZr meant that each unit cell in the lattice was composed of one copper atom and one zirconium atom.
After looking at a B1 structure of this material I realized that each unit cell in the lattice actually has 4 copper atoms and 4 zirconium atoms, therefore I am not sure why they call it a CuZr phase instead of Cu4Zr4.
Are they just expressing it as a ratio? So for every copper atom there is one zirconium atom?
Your help will be appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
Fabian_m9 said:
Are they just expressing it as a ratio?
Yes, and there may be other structures that also have a 1:1 ratio.

Related to What is the composition of the B1 phase in Cu-Zr alloy?

1. What is the material phase in a Cu-Zr alloy?

The material phase in a Cu-Zr alloy refers to the physical arrangement and distribution of the atoms within the alloy, which determines its properties and behavior.

2. What are the different phases present in a Cu-Zr alloy?