What is the best resource for beginners to learn IDL programming?

• Thread starter Werg22
  • Start date
In summary, the person is looking for a book to help them learn IDL, as they have little to no programming experience. The recommendation is "Practical IDL Programming" by Liam Gumley, available on Amazon. The IDL online help assumes some prior knowledge, but the recommended book assumes no prior knowledge. The person is also advised to join the IDL news group and visit the IDL forum for additional help. They are also informed that there may be affordable training options for academic/university individuals. Finally, the person asks for help with creating stacked plots and a sample code is requested.
Werg22
I'd like to get a book to get me up and running with IDL. I have little to no programming experience, so I'm looking for something that doesn't assume the reader has been exposed any sort of programming languages a priori. Any recommendation?

Technology news on Phys.org
IDL Programming

I've found "Practical IDL Programming" by Liam Gumley to be a pretty helpful book (I got mine off Amazon). The IDL online help is good, but does assume you have a cursory knowledge of where to start and what you're doing. The book above basically assumes you know nothing - it's really handy to get you to understand the basics.

The IDL news group is a helpful place to ask questions as well:

http://groups.google.com/group/comp.lang.idl-pvwave/topics

Finally, the forum on the IDL website can connect you directly with IDL's tech support:

http://www.ittvis.com/forum/ForumSearch.asp?urlCategory=2

I think they also offer cheap training for academic/university people, but I don't know the cost.

Hope this helps!

Last edited by a moderator:
Alright, thank you very much, I'll be looking into it.

Why the anonymity though?