What do I need to put myself in shape for the Putnam competition?

In summary, the best way to prepare for the Putnam contest is to practice with old Putnam problems and focus on writing up solutions perfectly. It is also recommended to look at Terence Tao's book and to join a team that practices Putnam problems. Additionally, brushing up on statistics, pigeonhole principle, counting, and geometry can be helpful for the competition.
Werg22
I'm not sure I even have enough time to prepare (a summer is very short). But still, I want to give myself a shot so I'm asking; what do I need to do good on the Putnam contest? Now I know this may sound like asking a question like "what do I need to one day walk on Mars?". So my real question, would be whether is it possible for me to prepare conveniently for the competition before its being held. I think I am a talented problem solver, and I've had some experience with contest-level problems, but nothing near Putnam of course. If I have the slightest chance of doing well, what would be the things that I need now? I know 99% of it would be practice, but for the remaining 1%, what kind of books or something in the likes should I be looking for?

Mathematics news on Phys.org
You might take a look at Terence Tao's book:

http://www.us.oup.com/us/catalog/general/subject/Mathematics/?view=usa&ci=9780199205608

EDIT: Another suggestion is try,

http://www.mathlinks.ro/Forum/

Then go to "International Mathematical Olympiad" link (upper left corner).
Ask your question there.

Last edited by a moderator:
have you tried the higher maths olympiad questions posted on the internet?

our team practices old putnam problems, under the guidance of a professor.

The canonical book is Larson's Problem-Solving Through Problems. But really, the best way to practice is to go through old Putnam problems.

mathwonk said:
our team practices old putnam problems, under the guidance of a professor.