What Colors Are Created by What Compound?

• Thread starter NightsThunder
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Sensor Type
In summary, Drew is designing a new firing system that he hopes will streamline the process of set-up and tear down for larger shows. He is considering placing some kinda of sensor in each tube to sense if the shell actually left the tube. He is also thinking about using a magnetic sensor. However, he is unsure if it would stand up to the lift charge from the fireworks.
NightsThunder
I am a professional Pyrotechnician and i am designing a new firing system. I am wanting to streamline the process of our set-up and tear down of larger shows. By putting some kinda of sensor in each tube we use to shoot our shells out of to sense if the shell actually left the tube. Why I would like to do this is that after each show we have to check each tube to make sure that the shell was discharged. If it wasn't we have to remove them and send them back to the appropriate storage facility. And if I am shooting a show with 1500+ tubes that can take a while to check every tube. I am thinking that some kinda of proximity sensor would work but not sure. Each tube we use has at least a 2" thick solid wood plug in the base and would like to put the sensor in there. But again not sure that it would stand up to the lift charge from the fireworks. Any ideas?? Thanks Drew

Engineering news on Phys.org
If you can line up a bunch of the tubes in a row, I'd drill holes in the sides that all line up. The holes have to be at a level that is obstructed when there is a round in the tube, but the holes are not obstructed after the shot. Line up groups of tubes (10-20 or more) with the holes all lined up. Then after the show, just aim a laser pointer down the row, and look for the dot on the far side of the last tube.