What are some career options for an Applied Math B.A. graduate?

In summary, if you have a degree in applied math or CS, you may be able to find a job in desktop support. However, the job market is very competitive, so you'll need to be skilled in computer programming and have several certifications to compete.
Kalinka35
Obviously the job market is tough for everyone right now, but I was wondering whether anyone might have some guidance for me.

I graduated in May 2010 with a B.A. in Math with an Applied concentration from a midwestern liberal arts college. My grades were pretty decent, but I got a few B+'s in there. I didn't come in with a lot of math credit and I studied abroad so I didn't end up getting to take a ton of advanced math classes that would have been interesting/helpful. I took one semester of intro level CS so I can do some very basic programming, but nothing fancy.

I think I would like statistics (since I didn't get to take advanced stat classes I'm not totally sure) or something involving data mining. I've done a bit of looking into actuarial stuff, but I've been hearing a lot about how dismal the job market is for that now.

I'm starting to get the feeling that my degree is totally worthless and I was just wondering if someone might be able to point me in the direction of career paths that haven't thought of and/or post-B.A. classes that might help to enhance my credentials.

Thanks a lot.

Physics news on Phys.org
Kalinka35 said:
Obviously the job market is tough for everyone right now, but I was wondering whether anyone might have some guidance for me.