What are DC blocks and how do they filter out AC?

In summary, filtering out AC and DC involves the use of capacitors in circuits. AC filtering is used in rectifiers to convert AC to DC, while DC filtering is used to isolate stages and set DC conditions in amplifiers. DC blocks use capacitors to filter out AC by acting as an open circuit, while coupling capacitors allow AC signals to pass while blocking DC signals by acting as a short circuit. Pictures and further explanations are available online for these concepts.
jeff1evesque
Could someone explain to me the meaning of the following concepts:

1. Filtering out AC: is used to reduce the ripple of a DC power supply.
2. Filtering out DC: Only time-varying signal will pass through a capacitor. The circuit on either side of the capacitor can be at different DC voltages.
3. And if one could help explain low and high pass filters, that would help a lot- since I have no prior knowledge in circuits.thanks,JL

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Hey Jeff,

The first concept comes into play in devices known as rectifiers. These are used to convert AC to DC and they employ diodes. Diodes are "directional current valves" and only allow the current to flow one way. As you will recall the AC that comes out of the wall is a sine wave and has a series of positive and negative "humps". The rectifier will output a voltage waveform consisting of the positive "humps" of the AC signal. You can see pictures of the output at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rectifier.

You see those parts where it goes back down to zero? Well this is where the capacitor comes in. The capacitor will charge on the upwards swing and then begin discharging. The voltage across a capacitor is related to how much charge is on it so with a right sized capacitor and a small enough time you can basically hold the voltage closer to the desired output.