Wavefronts and Longitudinal Waves Displacement-Time Graph

In summary, the concepts of wavefronts and displacement-time graphs for longitudinal waves can be confusing, but they can be better understood by visualizing the wave from a different perspective and examining the displacement of individual points on the wave. While the crest of a transverse wave occurs where displacement is a maximum, the compression of a longitudinal wave occurs at points with zero displacement.
Peter G.
Hi,

I am studying waves and I am having a hard time understanding the following concepts:

Wavefronts: I understand the principle. The only thing confusing me is when my teacher was explaining, he drew a light ray and lines perpendicular to that ray and he said those were the crests of the wave. How? I don´t understand that, unless we are looking at the wave from the "side", similar to the view we have of a wave in an oscilloscope, then I understand how those perpendicular lines are the crest and are therefore points in phase.

Displacement Time Graphs of Longitudinal Waves: When I was learning about longitudinal and transverse waves I learned how, in a transverse wave, the oscillations are perpendicular to the direction of energy transfer, yet, the displacement time graph os a longitudinal wave is a sine curve... How doesn't that imply that the oscillations are at 90 degrees to the direction of motion?

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Peter G. said:
Hi,

I am studying waves and I am having a hard time understanding the following concepts:

Wavefronts: I understand the principle. The only thing confusing me is when my teacher was explaining, he drew a light ray and lines perpendicular to that ray and he said those were the crests of the wave. How? I don´t understand that, unless we are looking at the wave from the "side", similar to the view we have of a wave in an oscilloscope, then I understand how those perpendicular lines are the crest and are therefore points in phase.