Using Spectrometer to measure soil nutrient solutions

In summary: ManciniIn summary, Vito Mancini, a farmer in Australia, is using simple devices to measure nutrient levels in his soil. He is wondering if the N,P,K,Ca,Mg levels can be measured in a spectrometer and if it is complicated to do so. Some suggest using techniques like ICPs or atomic absorption, while others suggest using reagents. The results from labs are returned in ppm, which may be considered trace levels.
vmancini
Hi Guys,

Sorry for dumping this thread in here, I really wouldn't know where this would fit...

I'm a farmer in Australia and I'm trying out these really simple devices to measure nutrient levels in my soil, they're basically a ceramic container with a small hose that gets buried into the root zone of my crop, I use a syringe to create a vacuum in the container which slowly draws soil moisture over night for extraction the following day.

My question is: Can the N,P,K,Ca,Mg levels be measured in a Spectrometer? Is it complicated if it can be done? Do you need a certain type of spectrometer?

Thanks,

Vito Mancini

Physics news on Phys.org
As I know, those elements are in traced level so it is nearly impossible to use some kinds of photospectrographs to identify and quantify. You can use techniques such as ICPs or atomic asorption for the purpose.

All I know is that the results that I've been getting back from the labs are returned in ppm... is that trace level? I spoke to someone today and they said you may be able to use reagents to do the trick, anyone know?

Thanks for your comment pixel01

Vito

Related to Using Spectrometer to measure soil nutrient solutions

1. What is a spectrometer and how does it work in measuring soil nutrient solutions?