Using a Micro PIC for Keypad Output with 16 Digits & 4 Bit Output

In summary, the conversation discusses using a micro pic instead of an HC11 to output a binary number when a key is pressed on a keypad. The PIC16F88 is suggested as a suitable micro pic, but it may not have enough i/o pins for the specific project. The PIC16F877 is also recommended for more i/o options. There is no known utility for converting HC11 assembler to PIC assembler and the PIC assembler language is different from other languages such as C or C++. Microchip's MPLAB software can be used to develop and simulate PIC programs.
bigmikew
What I need is that when a certain key (on a keypad) is pressed it would output a corresponding binary number. I have completed this with an HC11 in assembly language. My professor says that the HC11 is over kill and that a micro pic would do this for little money. I am new to micro pics and not sure how I would go about doing this. Which pic would be right for me? Is there a converter from Assembly to “whatever language” the pic uses? Any info would be greatly appreciated.
a standard 16 digit key pad will be used, and 4 bit output would be sufficient.

Engineering news on Phys.org
The PIC microcontroller <spit> from Microchip uses, oddly enough, PIC assembler.

It has an architecture rather different from the HC11.

Microchip supply a free download of MPLAB (can be found on their site) which allows you to develop and simulate PIC programs.

PICs come in a wide & confusing variety of shapes & sizes, from the PIC12, through PIC16, PIC17, PIC18 and PIC24.

For your purposes one of the PIC16 range, such as the PIC16F88 would do the job, since it has a lot of peripherals, including a serial i/f.

So far as I'm aware, there's no utility for converting HC11 code to PIC16 code...