Understanding Tensors for General Relativity: A Comprehensive Guide

In summary, the conversation is about someone new to GR and tensors seeking a detailed explanation to begin studying GR mathematically. They mention watching a video on PF that used a cube and 3-space vectors to explain tensors, but they are looking for resources that focus on vector calculus and tensor manipulation. They prefer explanations over books, but are open to recommendations. Another person recommends a book that starts with basic math and gradually introduces concepts related to tensors and GR. The conversation ends with the original person stating their current understanding of tensors and their need for a better understanding to work through specific solutions in GR.
BiGyElLoWhAt
Gold Member
Hi all, I'm fairly new to GR, and I'm also somewhat new to tensors as well. I'm looking for some detailed explanation of a tensor, as I want to begin studying GR mathematically. I watched a video that was posted on PF not too long ago that was pretty good. I'm having trouble remembering who it was, but basically it took a cube and assigned 3-space vectors to each side, and each side was represented by a vector. I can see that as an explanation, but that doesn't let me start doing math with tensors. A link that starts with something like vector calculus and goes through tensor manipulation (algebra/calculus) (I'm assuming it's different than matrix algebra/calculus) would be ideal. Explanations are great as well. If a book is HIGHLY recommended I will go buy it, but I prefer to not work through books, it's hard to keep motivation for self study with a book for some reason.

I would say I have a reasonable conceptual understanding of tensors, but am looking into reworking through specific solutions of GR. In order to do so, I need a better understanding of tensors.

Any suggestions?
BYH

Physics news on Phys.org
You might give this a try: http://preposterousuniverse.com/grnotes/grtinypdf.pdf