Understanding Relative Electricity: An Electron's Perspective

In summary, this statement implies that there is no magnetic field for an observer moving alongside at the same speed as the electron. This is due to the electron's perspective, which assumes that the entire universe is spinning in a "positive" direction around it.
sci-guy
I just read the following innocent sounding statement, which got me thinking:

"An electron in motion relative to an observer generates a magnetic field..."

This implies that, for an observer moving alongside at the same speed as the electron, there is no magnetic field. I understand the basic concept of relativistic motion, but I'd be interested in comments explaining what's going on here. I'm no scientist, but as I understand it, an electron in motion essentially implies an electric current. So there's no current and no field for our observer. Since energy is never created or destroyed, in what form is it here?

We could reframe the statement and say simply that, from its own perspective, the traveling electron generates neither a current, nor charge, nor magnetic field (since, relative to itself, it is never in motion). In fact, from the electron's perspective, the entire universe is spinning in a "positive" direction around it.

Wow.

Physics news on Phys.org
Well you may consider yourself "no scientist" but be careful, you post implies you already know more than 98% of the population!...

Different observers "see" (measure) different things...

As a simple example, two distant observers may time the occurrence of a distant light flash differently and two observers in relative motion will likely hear a different pitch as a train passes.

See this diagram to get an idea of what an electromagnetic wave looks like:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electromagnetic_wave#Properties

...the traveling electron generates neither a current, nor charge, nor magnetic field (since, relative to itself, it is never in motion