Understanding Low Rank Approximation with SVD: A Comprehensive Guide

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of low-rank approximation through SVD. The result matrix is expected to have a lower rank, but examples show higher ranks due to rounding errors. The process involves calculating the SVD and working with it in double precision arithmetic. Further steps in the feature extraction process may involve determining the basis and mapping terms to the basis. SVD decomposition is a useful tool in reducing large models to manageable sizes. In practice, only a subset of singular values may be computed to save time and resources.
TheOldHag
I'm studying low rank approximation by way of SVD and I'm having trouble understanding how the result matrix has lower rank. For instance, in the link the calculation performed on page 11 resulting in the so-called low rank approximation on page 12. This matrix on page 12 doesn't appear to me to be of rank 2 as one would think. I would expect only 2 linearly independent row vector. When I put it back into a calculator it is still rank 9.

http://lsa.colorado.edu/papers/dp1.LSAintro.pdf

Physics news on Phys.org
This is hard for me to word.

Basically, this explanation of low-rank approximation says the new m x n matrix should have rank r is not something I'm seeing in the Latent Semantic Indexing examples out there. They are coming up with new matrices that to me look like they have higher rank than r.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Low-rank_approximation

The matrix on page 12 is only printed to 2 significant figures, so if you copied and pasted those numbers into a calculator, most likely the matrix wound be "rank 9" because of the rounding errors introduced.

The matrix on page is actually the product W (12 x 2) . S (2 x 2) . P' (2 x 9) where the ( ) are the dimensions of each matrix and the relevant parts of the full W S and P matrices are shaded on page 11.