Trying to generate Turing patterns for Brusselator equations

In summary: \frac{\partial u}{\partial t}=u^2 v-2u+1/4\nabla^2 u\frac{\partial v}{\partial t}=u-u^2 v+1/4 \nabla^2 v
roastedwater
so my project is on reaction diffusion equations in 2d. i have been asked to reproduce known and published work to start off with and the system is the brusselator equations with diffusion terms. to put it simply my program doesn't work. now the parameter values for the equations are taken from existing work so that's no issue. i am putting up the code i have written. its a forward difference method. i haven't been able to code implicit or adi methods for nonlinear problems. can someone please look at the code and tell me where i am goin wrong? I am a real amateur when it comes to computing.

Attachments

• reaction_diffusion_eqn_brusselator_system_1.m
    1.7 KB · Views: 1,046
Physics news on Phys.org
That's a mess dude. The syntax looks all wrong for Mathematica and even so, don't code a package. Just code a straight mathematica notebook. This is what I suggest. First just show us what Brusselator you're trying to solve. Let me try:

[tex]\frac{\partial u}{\partial t}=u^2 v-2u+1/4\nabla^2 u[/tex]

[tex]\frac{\partial v}{\partial t}=u-u^2 v+1/4 \nabla^2 v [/tex]