Thermodynamics Conceptual Question

In summary, the conversation discusses the relationship between adding energy to a system and its resulting temperature change. It also mentions equations related to volume and internal energy. The question posed is whether adding energy to a system would increase its internal energy and subsequently its temperature. The answer is yes, as long as there is no change in the system's kinetic or potential energy.
fridakahlo
Hi! I'm new to the forums, so I apologize in advance if I'm posting my question in the wrong section. I'm studying thermodynamics right now, and I came across this sentence from my book:

Homework Statement

"When energy is added to a system and there is no change in the kinetic or potential energy of the system, the temperature of the system usually rises."

Homework Equations

Volume is proportional to Temperature
Internal Energy= Bond energy + Thermal energy

The Attempt at a Solution

I'm confused. Wouldn't adding energy to the system increase the system's internal energy (therefore inc. its kinetic/potential energy)? The only way I can see the above statement to be true is if there was an increase in volume of the system. And since volume is proportional to temperature, the temperature of the system would also rise. Are my assumptions correct or am I overthinking it? :oldconfused:

Physics news on Phys.org
fridakahlo said:
Hi! I'm new to the forums, so I apologize in advance if I'm posting my question in the wrong section. I'm studying thermodynamics right now, and I came across this sentence from my book:

Homework Statement

"When energy is added to a system and there is no change in the kinetic or potential energy of the system, the temperature of the system usually rises."

Homework Equations

Volume is proportional to Temperature
Internal Energy= Bond energy + Thermal energy

The Attempt at a Solution