The little theorem and its implication of coprimality.

In summary: Since $a^{n-1}\equiv 1 \pmod n$, we have $a^{n-1}=1+nk$ for some integer $k$. This means that the prime factors of $a^{n-1}$ are the same as those of $1$, which is just $1$. Therefore, $(a,n)=1$.In summary, the Lucas primality test states that if $a^{n-1}\equiv 1 \pmod n$, then $a$ and $n$ are coprime. This can be proven by using different approaches such as Bezout's identity, group theory, or the fact that $a$ and $b$ have the same prime factors when $a\
bamuelsanks
Hi guys.

I'm rather new to number theory, and as part of an assignment I have been learning about various different primality tests.
One of these tests is the Lucas primality test.
As part of the reasoning behind the test, wikipedia states:
"If [$a^{n-1} \equiv 1 \textrm{ (mod }n\textrm{)}$] holds for a, we can deduce that a and n are coprime".
Would anybody be able to help me understand why this is true?

Thanks,
SB

Mathematics news on Phys.org
A theorem due to Leonhard Euler...

http://mathworld.wolfram.com/EulersTotientTheorem.html

... establishes that for all a coprime to n is...

$\displaystyle a^{\varphi (n)} \equiv 1\ \text{mod}\ n$ (1)

... where $\varphi(n)$ is the 'Euler's Totiens Function'. Now if n is prime is $\displaystyle \varphi(n)=n-1$...

Kind regards

$\chi$ $\sigma$

chisigma said:
A theorem due to Leonhard Euler...

http://mathworld.wolfram.com/EulersTotientTheorem.html

... establishes that for all a coprime to n is...

$\displaystyle a^{\varphi (n)} \equiv 1\ \text{mod}\ n$ (1)

... where $\varphi(n)$ is the 'Euler's Totiens Function'. Now if n is prime is $\displaystyle \varphi(n)=n-1$...

Kind regards

$\chi$ $\sigma$

That is the converse of what the OP is trying to prove. Secondly, the OP does not say that $n$ is prime.

Last edited:
What is written by Alexmahone is true. The converse of the Euler's totient theorem established that if...

$\displaystyle a^{\varphi(n)} \equiv 1\ \text{mod}\ n$ (1)