The difficulty levels of the sciences

In summary, the group discusses which area of science is the hardest to grasp and the conversation centers around the study of diamonds and particle physics, with the latter being mentioned as a particularly challenging field due to its complexity and unsolved problems. The group also mentions their personal backgrounds and interests in these areas.
mmprotest
Hey guys,

So I want to simply pose a question. Conceptually, which is the hardest area of science to grasp?

This can also be a sub category of a discipline...or anything like that.

I'm just curious because I am a PhD student in Math, but my area is actually Mathematical Physics. So I have experience in both math and physics. I've always been interested in the perceived difficulty of a branch of science, versus its actual difficulty so I'd be interested in your opinions.

Cheers.

Physics news on Phys.org
I think the study of diamonds is the hardest.

Jimmy Snyder said:
I think the study of diamonds is the hardest.

Touche.

Umm... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_unsolved_problems_in_physics" ... IMHO of course...

See list of items under: HE Physics/Particle Physics in the wiki link

Rhody...

P.S. Kaaa-zing, nice one Jimmy...

Last edited by a moderator:
rhody said:
Umm... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_unsolved_problems_in_physics" ... IMHO of course...

See list of items under: HE Physics/Particle Physics in the wiki link

Rhody...

P.S. Kaaa-zing, nice one Jimmy...

Ya, I agree in the sense that it is a massive area of physics...and one that is generally not well understood (given all the contradictions between the different models).

Last edited by a moderator:

Related to The difficulty levels of the sciences

1. What are the different difficulty levels of the sciences?