The Conceptual Side of Specific Heat Capacity

In summary: Departures from the expected behavior of a material with respect to its heat capacity are due to the presence of partially constrained degrees of freedom (such as in the case of metals at low temperatures). Degrees of freedom are the number of ways a particle can move.
Izzhov
I am a beginner in thermodynamics; all I know is how heat is transferred, rotational/translational/vibrational/internal energy, and the law of conservation of energy. I recently learned about specific heat capacity, and I was wondering: why is it that different substances convert varying ratios of the heat they receive into internal energy, and what happens to the rest of the energy. Also, what (physically) in a particle determines how much of its heat will be converted into internal energy? Finally, is there any substance that converts 100% of the heat it receives into internal energy?

Science news on Phys.org
I'm no chemistry major, but I think I can partially answer this question. I believe that a compound's specific heat is governed by the nature of its molecular chemical bonds. This would imply, for example that the covalent bonds (O-H) in water molecules are capable of absorbing more energy without breaking than most other compounds (since water has a relatively high specific heat).

arunma said:
I'm no chemistry major, but I think I can partially answer this question. I believe that a compound's specific heat is governed by the nature of its molecular chemical bonds. This would imply, for example that the covalent bonds (O-H) in water molecules are capable of absorbing more energy without breaking than most other compounds (since water has a relatively high specific heat).