In summary, the individual is studying QFT in the path integral formalism and is having trouble deriving the Schwinger Dyson equation for a real free scalar field. They are particularly stuck on the Taylor series expansion of the functional exponential and are unsure about the correct formula for the differential. They are seeking clarification and resources, such as Mark Srednicki's textbook on QFT, to help them understand these concepts better.
vishal.ng
I'm studying QFT in the path integral formalism, and got stuck in deriving the Schwinger Dyson equation for a real free scalar field,
L=½(∂φ)^2 - m^2 φ^2
in the equation,
S[φ]=∫ d4x L[φ]
∫ Dφ e^{i S[φ]} φ(x1) φ(x2) = ∫ Dφ e^{i S[φ']} φ'(x1) φ'(x2)
Particularly, it is in the Taylor series expansion of the functional exponential
e^{i S[φ']}=e^{i S[φ+iα]} . Can anybody please tell me about the expansion? I have searched and haven't found anything quite helpful on the net. Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
##e^x = \sum_{n=0}^\infty \frac{x^n}{n!}##

Paul Colby said:
I believe that is a power series expansion. The final answer should contain the exponential still since, we have to relate it to the path integral. I have just started learning the functional formalism and I wanted to know whether,
##F[\phi']=F[\phi+\epsilon]=F[\phi]+\epsilon\left.\frac{dF}{d\phi'}\right|_{\phi'=\phi}+O(\epsilon^2)##
Which I believe is the functional analog of the Taylor series expansion, is correct and if the differential is indeed given by,
##\frac{dF}{d\phi'}=\int d^4y \:\varepsilon(y) \frac{\delta F[\phi(x)]}{\delta\phi(y)}##
Should ##\epsilon## and ##\varepsilon## be the same or should one of them be omitted. Or is the formula incorrect?

Last edited:
Likes vanhees71
Paul Colby said:
It is not helpful to quote an obvious result with no clarification on how to apply it to the given use case.

You should give Mark Srednicki's textbook on QFT a try.

Likes Paul Colby

Related to Taylor series expansion of functional