Systems with more than 1 wave function

In summary, the equation ψ(x) = ∑n anψn(x) expresses the principle of superposition in quantum mechanics, where quantum states form a vector space. It does not necessarily mean that particles are interacting with each other. Quantum Field Theory describes all particles as excitations in the same underlying field. The concept of a quantum state is interpretation dependent and can be further discussed in a separate thread.
ghost313
Hello,I am new to quantum mechanics.I just want to clear this equation:

ψ(x) = ∑n anψn(x)

What does this actually mean?Is this equation telling us that the system is moving as a wave?
Or,as I think,for example let's suppouse we have 2 electrons in a system,and the wave function becomes this ψ(x),does that mean that electrons interact one with the other?

Physics news on Phys.org
That's not a physical statement but a mathematical one and only means that we're using some base functions to expand the wavefunction, like expanding a 3D vector in terms of [itex] \hat x, \hat y[/itex] and [itex]\hat z [/itex].

Likes ghost313
No, actually multiparticle systems use the concept of tensor product of uniparticle spaces. So the product, not the sum appears in the formula of a general state.

Last edited:
Likes ghost313
I red somewhere that there are quantum fields which imply that one wave function(1 electron) can intercept on another wave functions (1 or more electrons),and so reverse...eaven when r → ∞ r(distance) so their Potential Energy(V) V → 0.
What does that mean then?
Thank you btw for answearing.

ghost313 said:
I red somewhere that there are quantum fields

In Quantum Field Theory you don't have one particle. All the electrons in the universe are described by excitations in the same underlying field.

I don't know if that answers your query though because I can't follow your issue.