Surface treatment of glass substrate for spin-coating (ZnO nanoparticles)

In summary, the speaker is seeking help with the preparation of glass substrates for ZnO and AZO thin films for transparent conductive applications. They have found that proper cleaning and surface treatment are important for achieving high quality and uniform thin films. They suggest using a cleaning solution, oxygen plasma or UV-ozone treatment, and a primer layer for optimal results.
hieuphth
Hi all,

I am studying ZnO and Al-doped ZnO (AZO) for transparent conductive thin film applications. I synthesized ZnO and AZO nanoparticles (NPs) by wet chemical method, then fabricated the thin film on glass substrate by spin-coating technique, and finally, annealed at high temperature.

To make the thin film with high quality, uniformity, and having good links with substrate, it is important to treat the glass substrate surface in a correct way (before spin-coating). Unfortunately, I have only very little information regarding this technique.

Please help me by bringing out your experience and suggestion on this matter, thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org

Hi there,

I have experience working with ZnO and AZO thin films for transparent conductive applications as well. In my research, I have found that the preparation of the glass substrate is crucial for achieving high quality and uniform thin films.

Firstly, it is important to clean the glass substrate thoroughly before spin-coating. This can be done by using a cleaning solution such as a mixture of isopropyl alcohol and deionized water, followed by rinsing with deionized water and drying with nitrogen gas. This step removes any impurities or contaminants on the surface of the glass that could affect the adhesion and quality of the thin film.