Suggest a book for this statics course (exams attached)

In summary, the professor wants students to think like engineers and do drawings instead of solving equations.
Mépris
Hi,

I'm currently studying physics in Europe, and am in some kind of "statics" course. It's a little unclear, as the course name is probably loosely translated from German, and the teacher didn't have any English books to recommend.

He's a great prof, but our classes are almost exclusively him going through a long problem set he assigned to us at the beginning of the semester. It's been that way for around 2.5 months, and we only have class with him once per week.

I badly need to get a book with which I can better understand the theory of what we're doing. He told us that he'd prefer we not use vectors to solve the problems, and instead, do them "graphically" (and algebraically) as that would help build a better intuition for things.

I asked him if I could upload some old exams on a forum to get some book recommendations, and he said it was OK. I've attached them to the post.

Your help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Mépris said:
I badly need to get a book with which I can better understand the theory of what we're doing. He told us that he'd prefer we not use vectors to solve the problems, and instead, do them "graphically" (and algebraically) as that would help build a better intuition for things.

I don't understand that. Vectors are geometric and analytic. Does he want you to break up each equation into its parts on each plane—which is the same as using vectors...

Statics is just a branch of mechanics, so any mechanics book should be appropriate. There are also engineering books on the topic you might find beneficial.

Sorry, I wasn't clear enough. If I recall correctly, he said that there were multiple ways to solve the problems, one of which being using the cross products, and he said he preferred the other way.