Studying Relativity: Speed Limit of c in All Inertial Frames?

In summary, the postulates of special relativity state that all laws of physics are the same in all inertial frames and the speed of light is constant for all inertial frames. From these postulates, it can be deduced that an object traveling at the speed of light in one inertial frame will also travel at the speed of light in all inertial frames. This is due to the Lorentz transformation, which guarantees that the speed of light remains constant for all observers, regardless of their relative motion.
mmmboh
How I studied relativity, we postulated that a particle traveling at c in one inertial frame travels at c in all inertial frame. But now looking through a book, I see that they just postulate that all laws of physics are same in all inertial frames, and that there is a speed limit (c). However then I don't quite get the reasoning on why if an object travels at c in one inertial frame, it follows that it must travel at c in all inertial frames...Is there a contradiction I'm not seeing that if you measure a particle traveling at c, someone moving much faster than you doesn't necessarily have to? This wouldn't change the speed limit in their frame.
(I know this is wrong, I'm just trying to deduce it from how the book did it).

Physics news on Phys.org

In special relativity, velocities are not additive. If Observer A sees Observer B moving to the right at .9 c, and Observer B sees Observer C moving to the right at .9c, this does not mean that Observer A sees Observer C moving to the right at 1.8c. Rather, velocity obeys something known as the Lorentz Transformation, which in this case leads Observer A to see Observer C traveling at a mere .994c.

These Lorentz transformation rules guarantee that everyone sees light (or any other energetic massless particle) traveling at exactly c no matter how fast each Observer might be moving with respect to other Observers.