Studying for a Test with Variable Answers

In summary, this person learned how to do an integral using the theorem above, and if anything else changes in the problem, they can still solve it.
stripedcat
This technically might not belong here, mods, put it in it's proper place if not.

So I'm studying for a test on Monday. Not a big deal, we use webassign, you may commence with the horrified gasps and groans, I know.

So here's my odd little situation.

I get a problem like this one

Integral 0 to pi/2 3sin^2x cos^2x dx

The 3 there might be a 4, or an 8, or a 9, or whatever, but the rest remains the same.

Once you realize that so long as that's the only part that changes, you know the answer immediately. It's always whatever the number is, times pi, over 16.

3pi/16 in this case.

That's great and all, but in order to learn how to do the problem that's not terribly helpful. I can force my way through it but that's hard to do when you instantly know what the answer is going to be the second you look at it.

How do you study in a situation like this?

Physics news on Phys.org
stripedcat said:
This technically might not belong here, mods, put it in it's proper place if not.

So I'm studying for a test on Monday. Not a big deal, we use webassign, you may commence with the horrified gasps and groans, I know.

So here's my odd little situation.

I get a problem like this one

Integral 0 to pi/2 3sin^2x cos^2x dx

The 3 there might be a 4, or an 8, or a 9, or whatever, but the rest remains the same.

Once you realize that so long as that's the only part that changes, you know the answer immediately. It's always whatever the number is, times pi, over 16.

3pi/16 in this case.

That's great and all, but in order to learn how to do the problem that's not terribly helpful. I can force my way through it but that's hard to do when you instantly know what the answer is going to be the second you look at it.

How do you study in a situation like this?