Structure Factor for non-Integer miller indices

In summary, a PhD student in a condensed matter group is studying ferrimagnetic order and observes superlattice reflections that require one cell parameter to be multiplied by M, the next by N, and the third by O. This magnetic order is described by a magnetic unit cell that is Ma x Nb x Oc. In order to calculate the structure factor for these reflections, the student constructs the larger Ma x Nb x Oc cell and performs a sum over a larger basis of atoms. This calculation is only valid for integer values of H, K, and L due to the fundamental relation between the atomic basis and the real space translation vectors. However, the student's supervisor is concerned about the validity of using non-integer values for H, K,
NanoMagno
Hi all.

I am a PhD student in a condensed matter group.

Consider: I observe superlattice reflections due to ferrimagnetic order that requires one cell parameter to be multiplied by M, the next by N and the third by O .

In other words, the magnetic order is described by a magnetic unit cell that is Ma x Nb x Oc

This leads to (H/M K/N L/O) reflections, where H,K,L are integers.

In order to calculate the structure factor for reflection (H/M K/N L/O) I construct the Ma x Nb x Oc cell and perform the sum:

[tex]F \left( \textbf{Q} \right) = \sum_{i}{f0_{i} \left( \textbf{Q} \right) \exp{ \left( i \textbf{Q} \cdot{} \textbf{r}_{i}\right) } } = \sum_{i}{f0_{i} \left( \textbf{Q} \right) \exp{ \left[ 2\pi i \left( hx + ky + lz\right) \right]} }[/tex]

Over the now much larger basis of atoms.

I divide by the ratio of the volumes in order to compare with any intensity calculated directly from the a x b x c cell (for example to compare with previously calculated nuclear scattering).

To me this is fine. My thesis supervisor is concerned based upon the following:

If you take the Ma x Nb x Oc cell but make it ferromagnetic the satellites become forbidden.