Sphere melting/freezing timescale-scaling (simplest approach)?

In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of calculating approximate melting timescales for spheres in a hotter liquid using a simple scaling approach. The assumptions made include a uniform temperature within the sphere, a large bath temperature, and temperature-independent material properties. The resulting equation for calculating the melting timescale is given as \tau=\frac{\rho r L}{h(T_b-T_m)}. Different assumptions may lead to a different equation.
bzz77
Sphere melting/freezing timescale--scaling (simplest approach)?

Hello everyone:

I am new to melting/freezing-type behaviour. I would like to calculate approximate melting timescales for spheres (uniform composition) thrown into a hotter liquid. The spheres would initially be at a lower temperature than their melting point, so they'd have to heat up before melting. I'd like to stick with conduction.

I would like to know if there's a simple scaling-type method (that incorporates latent heat) for getting approximate melting timescales. From my reading so far, it looks these sorts of Stefan problems are usually approached with numerical methods, and I'd like to start with simple scaling-based approximations before diving into the numerical methods!

If anyone could describe how I'd go about doing a reasonable, but simplified timescale calculation for a melting sphere, I'd be very grateful! I don't know where to start.

Engineering news on Phys.org

It's all about the assumptions.