Space in plastic to fit a ball bearing?

In summary, when designing a plastic piece to fit a 10 mm ball bearing, it is important to consider the type of fit and the available tolerance for the hole. It is recommended to start with a 9mm hole and gradually increase the diameter until a snug interference fit is achieved. Alternatively, using the same diameter as the ball bearing (10 mm) is also a good option. Adding a slight tolerance can also help account for any variation in size. If all else fails, glue can be used as a last resort. Good luck with your design!
Magnethos
I'm new in design and I'm designing a plastic piece where I want to fit a ball bearing.
The outer diameter of the ball bearing is 10 mm. If I want to fit it in the plastic. What measure I've to use in the plastic hole? 11 mm?

Physics news on Phys.org
It all depends on the type of fit you are looking for, and the available tolerance for the drilling of the hole. If you are going for an interference fit, it's probably safe to assume that the plastic will be compliant enough for a less than 10mm hole (again, this all depends on the tolerance of the hole).

Also, remember that it's a lot easier to increase the diameter of a hole, than to try fixing a hole that is too wide. I'd start with a 9mm hole - test of fit - increase another 0.5mm - test for fit - and keep on with this until you have a snug interference fit.

And if all else fails, a little bit of glue is always allowable ;)

As a fellow designer, I would suggest using the same diameter as the ball bearing, so in this case, 10 mm. This will ensure a snug fit and prevent the bearing from moving around too much. You may also want to consider adding a slight tolerance to the hole to account for any variation in the size of the bearing or the plastic material. Good luck with your design!

Related to Space in plastic to fit a ball bearing?

1. What is the purpose of creating a space in plastic to fit a ball bearing?